ASMBS Foundation News and Update—October 2011

| October 14, 2011 | 0 Comments

David Provost, MD

Dr. Provost is President of the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery (ASMBS) Foundation. He maintains a private practice, Provost Bariatrics in Denton, Texas. Dr. Provost also serves on the ASMBS Executive Council, is a member of the Surgical Review Corporation’s (SRC) Board of Directors, and is a member of the Society for American Gastrointestinal Endoscopic Surgeons (SAGES), where he serves on the Bariatric Liaison Committee.

ASMBS Foundation Mission Statement
The ASMBS Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization developed to raise funds for conducting research, education, increasing public and scientific awareness and understanding, and improving access to quality care and treatment of obesity. The Foundation shares the vision of the ASMBS to improve the public health and well being by lessening the burden of the disease of obesity and related diseases throughout the world.

The ASMBS Foundation’s Operation M.O.R.E. Congratulations to Dr. Lloyd Stegemann for winning the drawing for an iPad® 2. We also thank Dr. Stegemann for his generous donation to the ASMBS Foundation’s Operation M.O.R.E. (Monies for Obesity Research and Education).

Anyone making a donation of $1,000 or more to Operation M.O.R.E. before December 31, 2011 will be eligible for another drawing for an iPad 2.

Give generously. Make a difference. Get M.O.R.E. involved!

To make a donation today and to get more information about Operation M.O.R.E. donor incentives, visit
Through individual and corporate contributions, Operation M.O.R.E. has raised over half a million dollars, and the goal for 2011 is to reach the million dollar mark.

The Foundation would like to thank the following companies, organizations, and individuals for donating to Operation M.O.R.E.:

Alan Wittgrove, Allergan, Advanced Laparoscopic Surgergy/Kelvin Higa, Keith Boone, Saber Ghiassi, Ajay Upadhyay, Alberto Aceves, Alexander Onopchenko, Amir Moazzez, Andrea Pruitt, Andrew Hajduczek, Ann Rogers, Anna Stoessel, Antonio Torres Garcia, Archana Ramaswamy, Arthur Carlin, Augusto Whitwell, Barbara McGraw, Bariatric Advantage, Barry Greene, Bobbie Lou Price, Bret Petkus, Bruce Schirmer, Bruce Wolfe, Cadrin Gill, Carlos Barba, Carlos Carrasquilla, Carol Bradley, Chris Gallagher, Christina Manney, Christine Fielding, Christopher Still, Clovis Community Medical Center, Collin Brathwaite, Craig Eyman, Cynthia Buffington, Dale Sloan, Daniel B. Jones, Daniel Gagne, David Dyslin, David Provost, Deborah Dawley, Denville Myrie, Dolores Fleming, Douglas Krahn, Drake Bellanger, Edward Hatchigian, Emanuele Lo Menzo, Ethicon Endo-Surgery, Eufrocino Martinez, Fresno Heart and Surgical Hospital, Gary Stevens, Guillermo Gomez, Harvey Sugerman, Henri Atlas, Hilario Juarez, Irashel Fitzgerald, Iva Plummer, Jaime Ponce, James Kane/Suburban Surgical Care, Janet Baszile, Jeffrey Lord, Jeffrey Zittsman, Jessica Folek, Jessie Moore, Joe Nadglowski, John Baker, John Gleysteen, John Kellum, John McKernan, John Morton, Jose Pareja, Juan Contreras, Julie Kim, Karen Baumann, Keith Kim, Kelvin Higa, Kenneth Jones, Jr., Kenneth MacDonald, Lawrence Barzune, Lisa West, Lloyd Stegemann, Lori Altis, Lynn Thompson, Manish Parikh, Manoel Galvao Neto, Marlene Ingram, Michael Hartney, Michael Todd, Michael Tyner, Michael Wood, Nancy Puzziferri, Neil Hutcher, Nina Bellatorre, Ninh Tuan Nguyen, Patrick Domkowski, Patrick White, Patsy Edwards, Pedro Kuri, Philip Schauer, Rachel and Robert Chastanet, Ramon Vilallonga, Raul Rosenthal, Rebecca Steele, Rena Nash, Robert Brolin, Robert Cooper, Robert Rutledge, Robin Blackstone, Roger Kissin, Ruary O’Connell, Samer Mattar, Samir Patel, Scott Cunneen, Scott Shikora, Scott Welle, Sean Connolly, Shirley Starke, Soichiro Uramatsu, Susan Cox, Theodore Small, Tracy Martinez, Trever Frickey, Uyen Chu, Walen & Associates, Walter Lindstrom/Obesity Law and Advocacy Center, Walter Pories, Wayne English, William Avara, William Richardson, William Sweet, and Yiannis Ioannou.

New Incentive to Host a Walk from Obesity Event this coming Spring. Sign up to host a Spring 2012 Walk from Obesity event and achieve a minimum fundraising goal of $10,000 and you will receive a complimentary plenary session registration to next year’s American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery (ASMBS) Annual Meeting in San Diego, California.
The deadline to fill out the online application to host a Spring Walk is January 15, 2012. Dates are available from March through May.

“The Walk from Obesity is a fabulous day for our bariatric patients to get together and share their stories. Many of the patients haven’t had the ability to participate in any kind of Walk before. This day is empowering to them and you can feel their sense of pride and accomplishment.” PJ Stough, Lifeweigh Bariatrics, Chicago

Hosting a Walk from Obesity is a tremendous experience and a proud tradition among many of the leading bariatric practices across the country.

The Walk is the ONLY event where individuals affected by obesity can join together and raise awareness of this disease. From New York to California, walkers all across the country represent their successes in the fight against obesity.

Since its inception, the Walk has raised over $5 million for obesity research, treatment, prevention, advocacy, and awareness for the ASMBS Foundation and the Obesity Action Coalition (OAC).

Ask us how to get involved today by calling (866) 471-2727, or visit the Walk from Obesity website at and click on “Host a Walk.”

The Walk from Obesity Thanks its 2011 National Sponsors. The Walk from Obesity would like to thank its National Sponsors for their generous support in the fight against obesity. The Walk would not be possible without the support of our sponsors.

The 2011 National Walk from Obesity Sponsors are as follows:

Platinum: Allergan, Ethicon Endosurgery,
Bronze: Bariatric Advantage, Bariatric Fusion, Celebrate Bariatric Supplements, Clovis Community Medical Center, Fresno Heart and Surgical Hospital, Sizewise, Premier Nutrition, The Methodist Hospital System


Category: ASMBS Foundation News and Update, Past Articles

Leave a Reply