ASMBS Foundation News and Update—November 2017

| November 1, 2017 | 0 Comments


by Connie Stillwell

Ms. Stillwell is the Executive Director of the ASMBS Foundation.

Bariatric Times. 2017;14(11):25.

LEAD Awards. The ASMBS Foundation’s annual LEAD Awards ceremony will be held on October 30 in conjunction with Obesity Week 2017. Each year, we honor members of the metabolic and bariatric surgery community who have shown outstanding leadership and dedication to their field. Please join us in congratulating the following award recipients:

John M. Morton, MD, MPH, FACS, FASMBS

Outstanding Achievement Award. The Outstanding Achievement Award honors an ASMBS member who supports the goals and vision of the ASMBS Foundation, has displayed a lasting impression and selfless commitment to the ASMBS organization, and has made significant contributions to the field of metabolic and bariatric surgery. We are pleased to present this award to Dr. Morton.

Natan Zundel, MD, FACS, FASMBS

Master Educator Award. The Master Educator Award recognizes an ASMBS member who has demonstrated excellence as a master educator and mentor in the field of bariatric surgery. In addition to recognized skills as an excellent educator, recipients of this award will have made significant contributions (one or several) in educational leadership, curriculum development, education research and participation in national educational meetings, educational publications in peer reviewed journals, creation of innovative teaching programs, and the development of CME programs, educational software, or videotapes. We are pleased to present this award to Dr. Zundel.

Francesco Rubino, MD

Surgical Innovation Award. The Surgical Innovation Award recognizes an ASMBS member who has provided technological breakthroughs in areas related to bariatric and metabolic research—in particular, new surgical methods or devices.  Innovations can also be in the form of patents, inventions, new products, ideas, or services. The innovations developed by the awardee should have the potential to change our standard practice and should go beyond marginal improvements in existing procedures or products. Through their study of disease and its impact on the patient, the Surgical Innovator has moved the needle and excited the spirit of innovation in others in the field. We are pleased to present this award to Dr. Rubino. Award sponsored by Medtronic.

Robin Blackstone, MD, FACS, FASMBS

Dr. Ronald Clements Patient Safety & Quality Award. Dr. Ronald Clements Patient Safety & Quality Award recognizes major achievements of teams or individuals that promote patient safety and healthcare quality in bariatric surgery. Part of the mission of the ASMBS Foundation is to improve access to quality care and treatment of obesity. Quality care focuses on improved patient-centered, reliable, accessible, and safe treatment. We are pleased to present this award to Dr. Blackstone. Award sponsored by W.L. Gore and Associates.

Nina Crowley, PhD, RD, LD

Excellence in Nutrition Award. The Excellence in Nutrition Award honors an ASMBS member who has made significant contributions to pre-operative and/or post-operative nutrition. Those contributions include original research specific to nutrition, novel approaches and/or protocols that maximize patient adherence, and educational programs. This individual clearly understands how both pre and post-operative nutrition compliments a surgical procedure to optimize post-operative health. We are pleased to present this award to Dr. Crowley. Award sponsored by Bariatric Advantage.

David Provost, MD, FACS, FASMBS

Excellence in Clinical Care Award. The Excellence in Clinical Care Award recognizes an ASMBS member who exemplifies qualities of clinical excellence and expertise in metabolic and bariatric surgery, as demonstrated by an exceptional record of patient-centered care, innovation, professionalism, leadership, and continuous service to community. We are pleased to present this award to Dr. Provost. Award sponsored by Ethicon.

Bret Petkus

Distinguished Industry Partner Award. The Distinguished Industry Partner Award is presented to a prominent colleague from the bariatric industry for providing steadfast commitment to the goals and vision of the ASMBS, and excellence in service and value to ASMBS members, their patients, and the field of bariatric surgery. We are pleased to present this award to Mr. Petkus.

Michel Murr, MD; Jayleen Grams, MD, PhD; and Matthew M Fourman, MD FACS

The ASMBS Research Grant Awards. The ASMBS Research Grant Awards program is open to any principal investigator who is an ASMBS member. Awards are conferred on a competitive basis by submission of a grant application that is reviewed and evaluated by the ASMBS Research Committee and approved by the Governing Board. Upon their completion, the results of this project are expected to be presented at the ASMBS Scientific Session, as well as published in SOARD. We are pleased to present this award to Dr. Murr, Dr. Grams, and Dr. Fourman. Funding for the Research Grant program has been provided by the ASMBS Foundation.

The ASMBS will also present the Integrated Health Circle of Excellence Award, the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award, and the ASMBS PAC Award.

Thank you to our platinum event sponsors: Bariatric Advantage, Ethicon, Medtronic, and W.L. Gore & Associates.

Don’t miss us at Obesity Week. Visit us at Obesity Week! Stop by the ASMBS Foundation’s desk near the ASMBS Marketplace to learn more about our upcoming programs and events.


Category: ASMBS Foundation News and Update, Past Articles

Leave a Reply